Internet Protocol version 6

The next generation IP, designed primarily to extend Layer 3 Internet Protocol addressing to 128 bits written as 16 hextets.


IPv6 Prefix           Allocation              Reference      Note
-----------           ----------              ---------      ----
0000::/8              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]      [1] [5] 
0100::/8              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
0200::/7              Reserved by IETF        [RFC4048]      [2]
0400::/6              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
0800::/5              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
1000::/4              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
2000::/3              Global Unicast          [RFC3513]      [3]
4000::/3              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
6000::/3              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
8000::/3              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
A000::/3              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
C000::/3              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
E000::/4              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
F000::/5              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
F800::/6              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
FC00::/7              Unique Local Unicast    [RFC4193]
FE00::/9              Reserved by IETF        [RFC3513]
FE80::/10             Link Local Unicast      [RFC3513]
FEC0::/10             Reserved by IETF        [RFC3879]      [4]
FF00::/8              Multicast               [RFC3513]
[0]  The IPv6 address management function was formally delegated to
     IANA in December 1995 [RFC1881].
[1]  The "unspecified address", the "loopback address", and the IPv6
     Addresses with Embedded IPv4 Addresses are assigned out of the
     0000::/8 address block.
[2]  0200::/7 was previously defined as an OSI NSAP-mapped prefix set
     [RFC-gray-rfc1888bis-03.txt]. This definition has been deprecated as of December
     2004 [RFC4048].
[3]  The IPv6 Unicast space encompasses the entire IPv6 address range
     with the exception of FF00::/8. [RFC3513] IANA unicast address
     assignments are currently limited to the IPv6 unicast address
     range of 2000::/3. IANA assignments from this block are registered
     in the IANA registry: iana-ipv6-unicast-address-assignments.
[4]  FEC0::/10 was previously defined as a Site-Local scoped address
     prefix. This definition has been deprecated as of September 2004
[5]  0000::/96 was previously defined as the "IPv4-compatible IPv6
     address" prefix.  This definition has been deprecated by [RFC4291].

[RFC1881]   The IAB and IESG, "IPv6 Address Allocation Management",
            RFC 1881, December 1995.
[RFC1888]   J. Bound et al, "OSI NSAPs and IPv6", RFC 1888, August 1996.
[RFC3513]   R. Hinden and S. Deering, "IP Version 6 Addressing
            Architecture", RFC 3513, April 2003.
[RFC3879]   C. Huitema and B. Carpenter, "Deprecating Site Local
            Addresses", RFC 3879, September 2004.
[RFC4048]   B. Carpenter, "RFC 1888 is obsolete", RFC 4048, April 2005.
[RFC4147]   G. Huston, "Proposed changes to the format of the IANA IPv6 
            Registry", RFC 4147, August 2005.
[RFC4193]   R. Hinden and B. Haberman, "Unique Local IPv6 Unicast Addresses"
            RFC 4193, October 2005.
[RFC4291]   R. Hinden, Nokia, "IP Version 6 Addressing Architecture", 
            RFC 4291, February 2006.
            E. Gray, J. Rutemiller and G. Swallow, "Internet Code Point 
            Assignments for NSAP Addresses", RFC XXXX, Month Year.

» Our On-Line School of Network Science Glossary of Telecommunications Terms and Acronyms